Watch the Pandemic 2.0 Simulation Global All-Star Round Live!

Count Down to Game Day: April 16, 2021, 7 pm EST.



Sponsored by 



Competing Teams: The top teams of each of the February 27 and March 6 virtual sites are as follows below.

Team 1 (Gommolino):
  • Amanda Copkov, Baruch College
  • Ryan DeNardo, University at Albany, SUNY
  • Julian Schneider, United Nations University – MERIT
  • Sara Seif, The American University in Cairo
  • Maxim Zingman, Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration
Team 2 (Chanmar):
  • Maria Paula Ardila Rangel, Universidad de los Andes
  • Matthew Lethin, University of San Francisco
  • Joshua Kerlin, University of Missouri
  • Lexi Jenson, University of Texas at Dallas
Team 3 (Malldaff):
  • Ma Fides Talania, New York University
  • Darshan Parikh, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Adam Thorp, University of Missouri
  • Tiffany Turner, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Team 4 (Hannom):
  • Pui Kei Tse, Tsinghua University
  • Md. Moajjem Hossain Samrat, University of Barishal
  • Farabi Rahman, University of Dhaka
  • Renee Carpela, University of Guam
  • Hugo Thompson, Victoria University of Wellington


Anand Desai- Research Policy and Assessment Advisor for the Institute for Scientific Information, Clarivate Analytics

Professor Emeritus Anand Desai was instrumental in leading the merger between the School of Public Policy and Management with the John Glenn Institute for Public Service and Public Policy to create the John Glenn School of Public Affairs. While at the college he taught statistics, mathematical modeling, evaluation, and simulation for public policy analysis. His research is focused on use-inspired theory and applications of evaluative inquiry, performance measurement, data visualization, and spatial analyses. He is currently the Research Policy and Assessment Advisor for the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate Analytic. Previously he had been at the National Science Foundation as the head of the Evaluation and Assessment Capability Section in the Office of Integrative Activities.

Dr. Desai is the “godfather” of the NASPAA tudent Simulation Competition. He played a pivotal role in founding the competition, and incorporating simulation-based learning in the public service landscape. He has been involved in the annual simulation competition since its inception in 2015.

Dana Michael Harsell – University of North Dakota’s Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Dana Harsell is an associate professor who teaches courses in state and local government, public administration, and the intersection of business and government. He helps lead NASPAA’s Simulation Network, and is passionate about simulation-based learning. Dana has utilized both Pandemic and Migration simulations, developed by CLSG, in campus-based and online classes. Recent research contributions include an exploration of how and when small, rural governments utilize alternative service delivery methods to meet service demands (Journal of Rural Studies) and how local government leaders engage deliberative framing strategies when pursuing climate change mitigation and adaption policies within their jurisdictions (Journal of Environmental Planning and Policy).

Laurel McFarlandExecutive Director at NASPAA

Laurel McFarland has served as Executive Director of NASPAA since 2005. She brings a wide portfolio of previous experience: management of accreditation and quality assurance; professional experience in the economics of higher education and the strategic positioning of institutions in higher education; academic work in economic policy history; and active involvement in local government and nonprofit ventures.